Skip to content

The rules


Given the constraints of batteries currently used on the electric bikes, MotoE riders only have two free practice sessions of 20 minutes before attacking the E-Pole qualifying session - effectively a flying lap. The grid is decided following the times achieved during this session.


The MotoE is composed of seven rounds held at six different European circuits: Jerez, le Mans, Barcelona, Assen, Spielberg and Misano. Each race is seven laps long. Points are attributed to the first 15 in descending order as follows: 25, 20, 15, 13, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.

Technical regulations

Created in 2019 and organised during Grands Prix MotoGP weekends, the FIM MotoE World Cup is the first international competition for electric bikes. Using identical machines, produced by the Italian manufacturer Energica, they are supplied at the circuits for teams entered in MotoE by the series promotor Dorna Sports.


  • MotoE
  • Power: 160 bhp
  • Weight: 260 kg
  • Maximum speed: 270 kph

Number of entries

18 riders from 7 different countries (Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Andorra, Brazil, Japan, England)

The front runners

Jordi Torres, Dominique Aegerter, Matteo Ferrari, Hector Garzo, Bradley Smith, Niccolo Canepa…

The manufacturer


To go further