Skip to content

The rules


MotoGP riders have three, 45-minute sessions of practice at the end of which a first ranking is established. After a fourth 30-minute session, whose times don’t count, the riders whose times are slower than the first ten take part in a fifteen-minute qualifying session. The fastest two riders from this session are allowed to join the session bringing together the fastest ten riders for another qualifying session used to decide the first twelve places on the grid. Each line is composed of three riders. To qualify each rider must post a time at least equal to 107% of the time achieved by the fastest rider.


The MotoGP world championship is composed of 20 Grands Prix. Each round lasts between 40 and 45 minutes and is run over a distance of between 100 and 130 kilometres, depending on the circuit. A sliding scale of points are awarded at the finish for the first 15 as follows: 25, 20, 15, 13, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 pt.

Technical regulations

The MotoGP world championship is raced using 1000cc prototypes. Riders have an allocation of 7 engines for the whole season. Since 2017, all the teams use the same electronic management system, provided by the championship promoter. Each rider is provided with a limited number of tyres and bikes may carry no more than 22 litres of fuel.


  • MotoGP
  • Cubic capacity: 1000cc
  • Power: 240 bhp
  • Weight: 158 kg
  • Maximum speed: 340 kph
  • Max fuel capacity: 22 litres




Number of entries

24 riders from 7 different nations (Italy, Spain, France, Japan, Australia, South Africa, Portugal)

The front-runners

Fabio Quartararo, Marc Marquez, Joan Mir, Francesco Bagnaia, Jack Miller, Miguel Oliveira, Brad Binder, Andrea Dovizioso, Maverick Viñales, Pol Espargaro, Johann Zarco, Jorge Martin, Alex Rins, Remy Gardner, Raul Fernandez…


Yamaha, Honda, Ducati, Suzuki, Aprilia, KTM

To go further