Skip to content

Practice sessions

Moto2 riders have three free practice sessions of 45 minutes, which determine the initial rankings. The riders who finish above 14th place in the combined standings for the first three practice sessions compete in a 15-minute qualification round (Q1). The four best times are admitted to the session bringing together the top 10 from the free standings for a further qualifying round (Q2), which determines the first 18 places on the grid (Q2). Each row is made up of three riders. To qualify, riders’ times must be 107% or less of the time recorded by the fastest finisher.

The Races

The Moto2 World Championship is modelled on the World MotoGP. It features 19 Grand Prix events. Each event lasts around 40 minutes over a distance of 100 to 130km, depending on the tracks. Points are awarded on arrival for the top 15 riders based on the following scale: 25, 20, 16, 13, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 pt.

Technical regulations

While they have a free choice of frame, the main specific feature of Moto2 is that all the riders have the same engine, which means that their talent is the deciding factor. The 60cc Honda engine, used exclusively for the previous nine years, was replaced in 2019 with a three-cylinder 765cc Triumph. The riders have seven engines for the whole season. For the last three years, all the teams have used the same electronic management system provided by the championship promoter. Unlike MotoGP, there is no limited tyre allowance and the bikes cannot carry more than 22 litres of fuel.


  • Moto2
  • Capacity: 765cc
  • Horsepower: 140hp
  • Weight: 217kg with the rider
  • Top speed: 295kmh


You must accept Social Network cookies to view this video.

Number of entries

  • 30 riders
  • 12 different nationalities (Italy, Spain, Switzerland, South Africa, Germany, UK, Costa Rica, Japan, Australia, Netherlands, Malaysia, USA)

Top of the bill

  • Philipp Oettl
  • Lorenzo Baldassarri
  • Augusto Fernandez
  • Thomas Luthi
  • Luca Marini
  • Jorge Navarro
  • Marcel Schrotter…

The manufacturers

  • Kalex
  • MV Augusta
  • NTS
  • Speed-up
  GP Valencia 2019 (Circuit Ricardo Tormo)