Skip to content

The rules

Practice sessions

As in Moto2, Moto3 riders have two free practice sessions of 40 minutes to establish an initial classification. Riders who finish after the fourteenth fastest rider of the two first sessions combined contest a further fifteen-minute qualifying session (Q1). The four fastest riders from this session are allowed to take part in the session bringing together the fourteen fastest from free practice for another qualifying session (Q2) which decides the first eighteen places on the grid. Each line is made up of three riders. To qualify a rider must have posted a time at least equal to 110 % of the time of the fastest rider.


The Moto3 world championship comprises of 20 Grands Prix which are run over a hundred or so kilometres. Points are given at the finish to the first 15, in descending order as follows: 25, 20, 15, 13, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 points.

Technical regulations

Introduced in 2012 to replace the 2-stroke 125 class, the Moto3 category is composed of 4-stroke engined bikes with a maximum cubic capacity of 250cc. Cylinder diameter is limited to 81mm and engine revs restricted to 14,000 rpm. The electronic management system is the same for everyone and engines must not cost more than 12,000 Euros. As in Moto2, each rider has just one bike. Tyres are supplied by Dunlop and limited to 9 fronts and 9 rears. The minimum weight for the rider and bike combined must not be less than 152 kilos. The maximum age of riders is 28.


  • Cubic capacity: 250 cm3
  • Power: 60 bhp
  • Weight: 80 kg
  • Maximum speed: 240 kph

Number of entries

30 riders from 10 different countries (Italy, Spain, France, Japan, Turkey, Great Britain, Indonesia, San Marino, Brazil, Australia)

The front runners

Deniz Öncü, Dennis Foggia, Jaume Masia, Johan McPhee, Ayumu Sasaki, Adrian Fernandez, Izan Guevara, Lorenzo Fellon, Tatsuki Suzuki…


KTM, Husqvarna, Honda, Gas Gas, CF Moto

To go further