Skip to content

The FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) was created in 2012 by a partnership between the Automobile Club de l'Ouest (ACO) and the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA). He restored long-distance racing to its former glory, 20 years after the end of the World Sports Car Championship (WSC: 1953-1992). Each year, it recognizes in separate rankings the drivers, teams and manufacturers who have scored the most points in their respective category. 2021 marked the start of a new era for the discipline, with the advent of the highly anticipated Le Mans Hypercar category replacing the LMP1 prototypes. Its success is such that there will be 19 of them (representing 9 manufacturers) at the start of the 2024 season, including two PEUGEOT 9X8s and two Alpine A424s respectively supported by TotalEnergies and Elf. The novelty of the year concerns the advent of the LMGT3 category where no less than 18 cars and nine different manufacturers are expected.


For the 2024 season, the FIA WEC World Championship has 8 rounds, on the American continent, in Europe, Asia and the Middle East. The duration of the races varies, depending on the circuit, from 6 hours for the shortest (Imola, Spa, Sao Paulo, Fuji) to 24 hours for the longest (Le Mans). At the finish of each race, points are awarded to the first 10 according to the following scale: 25, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2, 1 pt *. Finally, an additional point is awarded in each category to the team and drivers of the car crew having obtained pole position.

* Two types of race have a specific scale:
- those of 8 and 10 hours: 38, 27, 23, 18, 15, 12, 9, 6, 3, 2 pts.
- the 24 Hours of Le Mans: 50, 36, 30, 24, 20, 16, 12, 8, 4, 2 pts.


The technical regulations

Closed cockpit vehicles entered in the FIA WEC are classified into 2 distinct categories: 1 category for Hypercar prototypes and 1 category for GTs called LMGT3.

For their part, the pilots are divided into 4 groups according to their record: Platinum, Gold, Silver or Bronze. This classification makes it possible to define the crews authorized to compete according to the categories.


Big news for 2021, the category sees two types of cars stand out:

  • LMH (Le Mans Hypercar, from 2021)
  • LMDh (Le Mans Daytona hybrid, from 2022)

The goal being that these two types of vehicles can compete in the FIA WEC and the 24 Hours of Le Mans, as well as in the American IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship series, of which the 24 Hours of Daytona is the highlight.

In 2021, only Le Mans Hypercars were authorized, with an exception made for ex-private LMP1s, like the one used then by the Alpine Elf Endurance Team. Based on the principle of performance windows, which sets minimum and maximum values for elements such as power (500 kW), weight (1030kg) or aerodynamics, the Hypercar regulations authorize manufacturers to completely design their own prototype , with the freedom to opt for different types of architecture. It successively attracted the support of Toyota Gazoo Racing, Peugeot Sport, Ferrari and Isotta Fraschini. Hybrid or non-hybrid power units, with transmission to the rear axle or to both axles, are eligible. A performance balance ensures sporting fairness between the different models lined up.

Since 2022, the category has been open to manufacturers who have chosen to race according to LMDh regulations. The latter has a common technical base, requiring the use of a certain number of standardized parts. The chassis must in fact come from one of the following four manufacturers: Dallara, Multimatic, Ligier or Oreca. The hybrid system on the rear axle is also common. Each manufacturer can, however, develop its own body and its own engine. And as for the hybrid Le Mans Hypercar, the LMDh display a total cumulative power (thermal engine + hybrid system) of 500 kW for a minimum weight of 1030 kg, again with a balance of performance guaranteeing equivalence of performance. Porsche, BMW, Cadillac, Alpine and Lamborghini are there.


  • Minimum weight: 1030 kg
  • Balance of Performance: guarantees the fairness of the field
  • Maximum power: 500kW
  • Sole tire manufacturer: Michelin
  • Cost control: reduced budget


  • Bronze pilots are not admitted.


New for 2024, and replacing the LMGTE technical regulations in force since 2012, the LMGT3 category is based on the existing FIA GT3 platform, with a certain number of adaptations specific to Endurance such as luminescent numbers for example. Coming from a road car built and sold at the time of approval, and of which it retains the shape, the racing version emancipates itself via a certain number of adaptations. In 2024, there will be eighteen on the FIA WEC starting grid and will represent the sports models of the biggest manufacturers: Ferrari, Aston Martin, Porsche, BMW, Ford, McLaren, Lexus, Corvette and Lamborghini.


  • LMGTE Am: at least 1 Bronze driver and 1 Bronze or Silver driver.

Committed 2024

  • 37 cars including 19 Hypercars and 18 LMGT3s


The lap time achieved by the poleman of the 2023 24 Hours of Le Mans in the Hypercar category

The builders

  • Alpine
  • Peugeot
  • Ferrari
  • Porsche
  • Toyota
  • Cadillac
  • BMW
  • Lamborghini
  • Isotta Fraschini
  • Aston Martin
  • McLaren
  • Ford
  • Lexus
  • Corvette


To go further