Skip to content

The rules

The EWC Endurance World Championship has certain rules that are unique to the discipline. For example, all races must, in part, be run at night, even the 8-hour events. And unlike many other forms of motorcycle competition, teams are free to chose what tyres they use. Another peculiarity: starts are held ‘Le Mans style’, with riders running across the track before jumping on their bikes.

On these long-distance races, that test both man and machine to the limit, the teams enter two or three riders who swap over during refuelling, while the mechanics fill up the tank and change wheels.

In each race there are two classes, with their own separate results sheet.


Is the category entered by those teams attempting to win the endurance world championship crown. The bikes can be identified by their black number plate backgrounds and white headlights. The bikes’ general appearance must resemble that of the production machine on which they are based, but it is possible to change forks, the shock absorber, the swinging arm, the brakes, the radiator and the exhaust. There’s a certain amount of leeway to improve engine performance and all the bikes in this category are equipped with quick change wheels.


Is the category for teams racing for the endurance world cup. The bikes in this class have red number plate backgrounds and yellow headlights. Machines in the Superstock class are extremely close to production models. The engine must have the same spec as standard and modifications are very limited: electronic injection mapping, reinforced clutch, different silencers. Wheel changing systems must be as standard, which requires carefully thought-out tyre strategies during refuelling.

In both EWC and Superstock the fuel tank may be modified to achieve a maximum capacity of 24 litres and fitted with a quick filler.


Before the start of the race, free and timed practice is held for all riders, split into three difference categories: blue, red and green. The sum of the best times of the three riders is used to establish the starting grid.


The EWC world championship is made up of 5 races: three of twenty-four hours and two of eight hours. The number of points obtained is different, as a function of the race. The team that wins a 24-hour race picks up 40 points, the one that finishes second 33, the third 28, the fourth 24, the fifth 21, the sixth 19, the seventh 17, the eighth 15, the ninth 13, the tenth 11… All the way to the twentieth that scores 1 point. The team that wins an 8-hour race takes 30 points, the one that finishes second 24, the third 21, the fourth 19, the fifth 17, the sixth 15, the seventh 14, the eighth 13, ninth 13, the tenth 11… Until the twentieth that scores 1 point. For the final at Suzuka, the winning team takes 45 points, the second 36, the third 31.5, the fourth 28.5, the fifth 25.5, the sixth 21, the seventh 19.5, the eighth 18, the ninth 16.5, the tenth 15… Until the twentieth that scores 1.5 points. For 24-hour races, the first 10 teams receive bonus points after 8 and 16 hours of racing.


  • Cubic capacity: 1000cc
  • Power : 200 bhp
  • Weight : 175 kg (EWC) 168 kg (SST)
  • Maximum speed : 320 kph
  • Maximum fuel capacity : 24 litres

Number of entries

  • 36 permanent teams of 3 riders (21 teams in EWC, 15 in SST).

The front-runners

Webike SRC Kawasaki France, Suzuki Endurance Racing Team, AM Moto Racing Competition, Tati Team Beaujolais Racing, FCC TSR Honda France, Team ERC Endurance, YART Yamaha, Bolliger Team Switzerland, Tecmas BMW GMC, Omega Maco Racing Team, Team 33 Coyote Louit Moto, Team 202, BMRT 3D Maxxess Nevers, No Limits Motor Team, Motors Events…


  • Kawasaki
  • Honda
  • Yamaha
  • Suzuki
  • BMW
  • Ducati

To go further